By Samantha Shannon

This book was intense.  That’s the only word I can think of to describe it.  Still trying to cope with her mounting PTSD, Paige has a very limited window of opportunity to stabilize the Syndicate of London clairvoyants before Scion, the militarized body of government determined to destroy them, catches up with her.  We see Paige grappling with the reality of her situation as Underqueen, knowing she’ll have to make some incredibly difficult decisions if she wants to protect the clairvoyant population and survive this war.  I liked the change of pace in this third installment because London is not the sole backdrop of the story.  Paige and her main group of followers are on the hunt for a way to destroy SenShield, the program Scion developed to weed out the clairvoyant population, which brings them into contact with previously unknown clairvoyant sectors of the U.K.  I loved seeing the different communities of voyants with their own levels hierarchy and their interactions with each other.  There’s a lot of mass destruction, evading the government, reconnaissance missions, and bloodshed in this book.  They left things pretty open at the end, so we’ll have to wait and see what challenges await Paige and Warden as they venture onward in their fight for freedom.

You can find this book in our catalog here.

The first book in the series, The Bone Season, can be found here, and the second book, The Mime Order, can be found here.

Reviewed by


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s