Home

Face of a Strangerby Anne Perry

I love reading series that develop really wonderful, three dimensional characters over time.  Yet I’m also frequently disappointed to discover authors have written their best work early in their careers, later recycling plot formulas and neglecting further development of their characters.  I decided this summer was a good time to test my theory on a less famous series written by an extremely successful author.  So I picked up this slightly dusty book and was completely drawn in to the story of a Victorian era police detective who wakes after an accident with no memory of himself at all.  The psychological drama which unfolds is as compelling as the mystery; it led me to reflect on my own life and accomplishments.  If I lost all my memories, would I like what I discovered through the eyes of others?  Would I remain the same person as before, or would my gradual self-rediscovery fundamentally change me?

Find this book in our catalog here for a great summer escape!

Susan

Leave a Reply

