Home

Good Livesby J.K. Rowling

This slim book is the publication of Rowling’s commencement speech at Harvard in 2008.   It was so refreshing to read as an adult!  The pressure of defining myself is mostly behind me (although I do reserve the right to change over time!)  Yet I felt affirmed and encouraged by choices I think Rowling would condone. I also completely agree with her that imagination – strengthened through reading – is essential to developing empathy and the capacity to envision a better world.

The charming and self-deprecating personality which comes across through her writing made me feel like we were chatting on my front porch.  So take 15 minutes this summer to think about Life and whether or not you’re moving in a good direction.  Find the book here in our catalog.

If you enjoyed this book, and the opportunity to pause and reflect on your life, try Congratulations, by the way: some thoughts on kindness by George Saunders.  It’s never too late to try something new!

Susan

Leave a Reply

