Home

CaptainWentworth

by Amanda Grange

I can’t deny my attraction to any and all Jane Austen derivatives, and Captain Wentworth’s Diary is an entertaining addition to the genre. Of course it’s the story of Persuasion written from the Gentleman and Officer’s point of view.  Since I already know how the story ends, I kept reading to learn more about the Captain’s thoughts and experiences, and to possibly glean new insight into familiar relationships.

Although I’m ever hopeful when I start reading a new Austen-inspired book, I have honestly found most spin-offs to be poorly written and lacking in imagination, if not downright trashy.  The absolute best book of this genre that I’ve read is the  Fitzwilliam Darcy, Gentleman series by Pamela Aidan.  I found it so engrossing, I even re-read it.  Now that’s a real endorsement!

To find Captain Wentworth’s Diary, click here.

Susan

Leave a Reply

