Home

Unexpected Sonby Shobhan Bantwal

Since I grew up in the Upper Midwest, I am familiar with American immigrants and their literature, and almost everyone I knew had grandparents from somewhere else.  Honestly, a common conversation opener was “where did your family come from?”  This is certainly not true in New England.

Lately, I find myself wanting to expand my reading to include a wider variety of experiences – what makes us different?  What do we have in common?  I have been enjoying Bollywood movies for a few years and learning to appreciate those tropes, so it was a natural progression to read about Indian Americans.  Bantwal is no Lahiri, yet her prose is accessible, her references to Indian food are tantalising, and her depiction of Indian family life is enlightening.

If you’re interested in expanding your reading too, click here to request this book.

Susan

Leave a Reply

