Home

Girl in Translationby Jean Kwok

I have not been so moved by a book since reading The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.  This story of an eleven year old girl and her mother coming to New York from Hong Kong for a “better” life is told with heartbreaking, believable simplicity.  I wish I had read this while still in high school so that I could perhaps have been more like Kim’s one friend Annette.  And I wonder how many “invisible” immigrant kids are living around me now?  This novel isn’t perfectly crafted, but it is a compelling read.

Click here to find it in our catalog.

 

 

 

Susan

 

Leave a Reply

