Home

Susan  I love reading mysteries, but not of the gory, existential, dark variety.  Not of the fluffy, poorly written variety either.  I love great stories, with well developed characters whom I would like to know.  I read somewhere that people like mysteries because they are reassuring in a chaotic, confusing world; good conquers evil, things happen for a reason, questions are answered, and wrong doers get their just deserts.  In fact, I find I rarely remember the solutions to mysteries I particularly loved.  It’s more typical for me to get so involved with the characters, I remember their names and lives, but not their authors’ names.  Good thing library catalogs are online and can be searched with keywords!

I have to also admit to loving almost all things related to Jane Austen.  I can’t defend that preference, except to assert her characters are memorable and her writing is beautiful.  I’m not obsessed, however.  I never noticed, for instance, that The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society was really a re-working of Pride & Prejudice until my daughter pointed it out to me.  Nor can I be bothered to read Pride & Prejudice & Zombies, even though the concept amuses me.

I have very little time to read for fun.  So when I sit down with a book, I want to be transported and uplifted.  Real life is sad and tragic enough; I don’t feel like reading about it.   I especially love finding series with characters I really enjoy.  Sometimes, after reading most titles in a great series, I put off reading the last book – saving it up for when I need a special distraction.

We hope you enjoy our reading/viewing/listening suggestions.  Feel free to share your thoughts with us!

Leave a Reply

