Home

jessica

 

I love to read.  I love non-fiction, fiction, poetry, children’s and young adult.  I can be a little snobbish when it comes to writing style, however.  If it is poorly written, I hate to waste my time.  I find writing this little blurb incredibly difficult because I don’t like to define my reading style.  I read for so many different reasons; to learn something new, to escape, to recapture childlike wonder, to immerse myself in someone else’s reality, to get a better understanding of another culture, or gender, or age, to appreciate the poetic possibilities of language, etc. etc…

Some (and by NO means all) of my favorite authors are Polly Horvath, Kate Dicamillo, Roald Dahl, Dr. Seuss,  Reza Aslan, Alan Lightman, Mary Roach, Joseph Ellis, Lesley Hazelton, Kurt Vonnegut, John Steinbeck, Emily Dickenson, Charles Dickens, Jane Austen, Nicole Kraus, Shakespeare, Italo Calvino, Jonathan Safran Foer, Yann Martel, Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Robert Frost, Catherynne Valente, Billy Collins, Margaret Atwood, Jostein Gaarder, Charles Yu, Neil Gaiman, Tea Obreht, Alain De Botton, Julia Stewart, and Jared Diamond.

Leave a Reply

